How can I score 4.0 every semester?

Poster: STANCOBRIDGE | Date: 4:56pm, 2nd Mar 2018. | Views: 31 | 1 Replies
Page 1 of 1
STANCOBRIDGE. Jalingo, Taraba
4:56pm, 2nd Mar 2018.

Stefano Quattrini

Bsc Physics, Sapienza University of Rome

Honestly, I think it depends a lot on what you are studying: I know a lot of people who are studying business at renowned universities where grades are inflated and graduate with a 4.0. Nonetheless at my particular university, in my physics cohort of 400+ students, 100-ish left after the first year, and there was only a guy who achieved a 4.0 for every semester.

I personally achieved a 4.0 in 2 semesters, averaging a 3.8 - 3.7 in the others and I can tell you what I did differently in those 4.0 semesters:

I studied every single day, not even a day out (first day of lessons included), at least from 3 pm to 9 pm.

I did A LOT of practice exercises: I finished all the practice books and wrote down every exercise I struggled with. Every month I would go back doing all those exercises in the list until I could solve them all.

I paid attention to the smallest details: I knew extremely well even those parts of the program the professor didn’t stress too much on.

I always attended lectures: now I’m not such a huge fan of lectures, because I think that for the written part of the exam (the hard core maths / physics exercises) what matters most is how much you practice alone. BUT for the oral part of the exam (we had 2 parts: the written test and the oral part where they asked you about theorems, etc), having attended lectures makes a significant difference, mostly because professors like to hear things in the way they know and/or taught them. And if you study from a book things will be similar, but not necessarily exposed in the same way.