headlogo

What should I do if I'm bitten by a deadly snake, and it's impossible to get antivenom in time? For example, hopelessly lost in the jungle.

Poster: STANCOBRIDGE | Date: 12:32am, 15th Mar 2018. | Views: 161 | 1 Replies
Page 1 of 1
STANCOBRIDGE. Jalingo, Taraba
12:32am, 15th Mar 2018.

Resident Expert in Snakebite and Envenomations at Remote Medical International

I love it when this question comes up, since snakebite medicine is what I do for a living! Pretty much everything that is common knowledge about snakebite first aid is either completely ineffective or potentially dangerous. The only definitive treatment for a serious snake envenomation is the appropriate antivenom, but here is some specific advice on what to do in the field so you can make it to the hospital alive and receive antivenom. I wrote a very long post to answer this question but I am afraid that it may dissuade the casual reader, so I am including the sparknotes version below. You can read the here if you want the detailed version: Jordan Benjamin's answer to What should you do if a snake bites you in the backcountry many hours away from medical care?

—————————————————

The Short Version

DO NOT make a tourniquet, DO NOT cut and suck, DO NOT apply the sawyer extractor or other commercial “snakebite kits”, DO NOT electrocute yourself with a stun gun, and do not follow any strange recommendations you receive from other hikers on the trail. No first aid is often less harmful than bad first aid when it comes to snakebites!

1) Carefully walk backwards and find a safe space to sit down nearby before the venom drops your blood pressure and you pass out and hit your head.

2) Remove any rings, watches, bracelets, and anything else that could become a tourniquet if your limb swells up like a balloon.